P2P

From BC$ MobileTV Wiki
Jump to: navigation, search

Peer-to-Peer (commonly abbreviated P2P) is a term used to describe a communication scheme, system or protocol by which the individual users of the system, scheme or protocol communicate to one another directly (or perhaps virtually, through proxies), as opposed to sending a message through one central communication resource (such as a server as in Internet communications, or operator switch board as in Telephone communications).


Piracy

Critics of P2P claim that it is the primary "vessel" of digital piracy (illegal downloading or streaming of unauthorized and usually free duplications of legitimate/original Software, Music, Movies, TV shows, Video Games and Books).

[1] [2] [3] [4]

Services

Downloading

The Pirate Bay


ISO Hunt

Legal Torrents


Streaming

PPlive

According to its website: "PPLive is the largest online video interactive entertainment media platform worldwide with the highest number of users and widest coverage serving Chinese communities. PPlive offers users omni-directional 3D online interactive video entertainment services comprised of website/communities (www.pplive.com), client terminals as well as online live/on-demand broadcasting (iKan) and video search (PP.tv).The platform currently makes available approximately 100 million video clips and 10,000 video content search records,with a library of more than 200,000 licensed films and teleplays and is the sole licensed online video source in China."

Sopcast

Sopcast is a popular alternative for P2P streaming of content which requires a high amount of bandwidth, and would thus benefit from load-sharing of the bandwidth requirements for distribution (for example, Television). Sopcast includes a client solution (TVU player) a server solution (TVU broadcaster) and a Firefox plugin/Applet for embedding content within a Web Browser.

TV2Me

TV2Me® works as an extension cord to your own home cable or satellite box, bringing your own TV to you anywhere in the world. Preview the unrivaled video picture and the quality with which you can be enjoying your own favorite shows, anywhere.

Others






Tools

Adobe Stratus

Adobe® Stratus 2 enables peer assisted networking using the Real Time Media Flow Protocol (RTMFP) within the Adobe Flash® Platform.


Resources



Tutorials

[13] [14] [15] [16]

[17] [18] [19] [20] [21] [22] [23] [24] [25] [26] [27] [28] [29] [30] [31] [32] [33] [34]


External Links

Whatever Happened to Red Swoosh (acquired by Akamai CDN)?: https://gigaom.com/2008/05/03/whatever-happened-to-red-swoosh/


References

  1. Harvard Business Review -- The Digital-Piracy Dilemma : https://hbr.org/2020/10/the-digital-piracy-dilemma
  2. The Consequences of Digital Piracy: https://www.uscybersecurity.net/digital-piracy/
  3. The Societal Costs of Digital Piracy: https://www.webroot.com/us/en/resources/tips-articles/the-societal-costs-of-digital-piracy
  4. "Porch Piracy" Is Growing: https://www.practicalecommerce.com/porch-piracy-is-growing
  5. Piratebay loses ".org" domain in court, now "thepiratebay.se": http://torrentfreak.com/the-pirate-bay-moves-to-se-domain-prevent-domain-seizure-120201/
  6. (With ".se" change, Pirate Bay Moves to The Cloud, (claims it) Becomes Raid-Proof: http://torrentfreak.com/the-pirate-bay-moves-to-se-domain-prevent-domain-seizure-120201/
  7. Pirate Bay raided & taken down: http://www.wired.com/2014/12/pirate-bay-raided-taken-down/
  8. Pirate Bay Won’t Make A Full Comeback, Staff Revolt: http://torrentfreak.com/pirate-bay-wont-make-a-full-comeback-staff-revolt-150127/
  9. Phoenix Hints At Imminent Pirate Bay Comeback: http://torrentfreak.com/phoenix-hints-imminent-pirate-bay-comeback-150125/
  10. IsoHunt unofficially resurrects The Pirate Bay: http://venturebeat.com/2014/12/12/isohunt-unofficially-resurrects-the-pirate-bay/
  11. Some former PirateBay staff sponsor $100k challenge - Change the future!: http://oldpiratebay.org/100k
  12. Is there a replacement library for CORBA in JDK 11: https://stackoverflow.com/questions/51710274/is-there-a-replacement-library-for-corba-in-jdk-11
  13. Difference Between CORBA & RMI: http://www.differencebetween.net/technology/internet/difference-between-corba-and-rmi/
  14. The JXTA solution to P2P: https://www.javaworld.com/article/2075733/the-jxta-solution-to-p2p.html
  15. The Gnutella file-sharing network and Java: https://www.javaworld.com/article/2076200/the-gnutella-file-sharing-network-and-java.html
  16. From P2P to Web Services and Grids -- Peers in a Client/Server World: https://www.worldcat.org/title/from-p2p-to-web-services-and-grids-peers-in-a-clientserver-world/oclc/827073874/viewport
  17. Measurement of Commercial Peer-To-Peer Live Video Streaming: http://www.cs.cmu.edu/~hzhang/papers/PPStreamingMeasurementWRAIPS06.pdf
  18. Exploring Large-Scale Peer-to-Peer Live Streaming Topologies: https://iqua.ece.toronto.edu/papers/cwu-tomccap08.pdf
  19. A Review on P2P Video Streaming: https://arxiv.org/ftp/arxiv/papers/1304/1304.1235.pdf
  20. Adaptive tree-based P2P video streaming multicast system under high peer-churn rate: https://www.sciencedirect.com/science/article/pii/S1047320312001678
  21. Advances in P2P Live Video Streaming: https://www.microsoft.com/en-us/research/video/advances-in-p2p-live-video-streaming/
  22. How to implement Peer-to-peer (P2P) in OTT video streaming?: https://medium.com/techattvb/how-to-implement-peer-to-peer-p2p-in-ott-video-streaming-afc5d5108e2d
  23. Akamai's Peer-To-Peer Love Story: https://blog.peer5.com/akamais-peer-to-peer-love-story/
  24. Netflix Considers P2P-Powered Streaming Technology: https://torrentfreak.com/netflix-considers-p2p-powered-streaming-technology-140426/
  25. Wowza -- Peer-to-Peer Unicast StreamingThe Death of Multicast?: https://www.wowza.com/resources/guides/p2p-unicast-streaming
  26. StriveCast -- The Next Generation Of P2P Video Delivery: https://strivecast.io/next-generation-p2p-video-delivery/
  27. StriveCast -- The first ISP friendly P2P live streaming network: https://strivecast.io/isp-friendly-p2p-live-streaming-network/
  28. Peer5 -- P2P streaming CDN: https://www.peer5.com/p2p (service that ensures coverage in underserved regions & internal networks with peer-assisted delivery)
  29. Seedess - P2P Streaming CDN: https://seedess.com/
  30. Hive - P2P Streaming platform: https://www.hivestreaming.com/p2p-streaming/
  31. Streamroot video delivery technologies: https://streamroot.io
  32. LivePeer: https://livepeer.org/# (OSS Video Infrastructure Services, Built On the Ethereum Blockchai)
  33. PeerJS (P2P WebRTC) library: https://peerjs.com/index.html (CDN-free, but compatible, DIY option)
  34. P2P Media Loader: https://github.com/novage/p2p-media-loader

See Also

Client/Server | HTTP | World Wide Web | Security | P3P | VPN | Dark Net | Virtual Currency