Technology

From BC$ MobileTV Wiki
Jump to: navigation, search

Technology is any tool, innovation or advancement which contributes something of value in terms of life simplification (most commonly automation of manual tasks) or enhancing humans with new abilities which were previously not possible.

Arthur C. Clarke famously said:

"Any sufficiently advanced technology is indistinguishable from magic."[1][2]

The joke is that things which are "techie" in nature are "all things considered cool about technology, but in fact quite the opposite" (or another way of putting that is that techies deal in technologies which have either been abandoned by the not yet



Technical Debt

Technical Debt is defined differently depending on the organization/expert you ask, but the underlying commonality is that it represents "a difference between what (i.e. software/hardware) was promised (to users/customers) and what was actually delivered (i.e. incomplete software/hardware with bugs or errors)"[3]

Another way of looking at Technical Debt is anything the hinders the quality, performance or security of your technology (i.e. software/hardware). Such limitations will also limit the speed at which development can happen (and equivalently the "burndown rate" for closing bugs and/or "sprint pace" for adding new features). Business-wise, it makes sense to then tackle and remove Technical Debt as early and often as possible, in order to ensure your teams are operating at full capacity and maximum efficiency. Technical Debt is often the result of shortcuts, workarounds or temporary fixes to meet deadlines, that often never end up getting fixed due to new deadlines coming up and taking priority.

From the Quality Assurance perspective, strict adherence to DevOps' continuous improvement principles would dictate that any single piece of supporting software/hardware that's allowed to become out-of-date is in fact a form of Technical Debt. This means that a software/hardware stack should always be capable of operating with the highest "stable" version number of any dependencies (i.e. libraries, APIs or supporting platforms) in order to have the highest possible quality of software/hardware. This is important because many libraries, APIs or platforms are constantly receiving updates which result in major improvements such as security patches for critical vulnerabilities, user experience simplifications, feature enhancements, and/or performance optimizations.

[4] [5] [6] [7] [8] [9] [10] [11] [12] [13] [14] [15] [16]


[17] [18] [19] [20] [21] [22] [23] [24] [25] [26] [27] [28] [29] [30] [31] [32] [33] [34] [35] [36] [37] [38] [39] [40] [41] [42] [43] [44] [45] [46] [47] [48] [49] [50] [51] [52] [53] [54] [55] [56] [57] [58] [59] [60] [61] [62] [63] [64] [65] [66] [67] [68] [69] [70] [71] [72] [73] [74] [75] [76] [77] [78] [79] [80] [81] [82] [83] [84] [85] [86] [87] [88] [89] [90] [91] [92] [93] [94] [95] [96] [97]

Big Tech

A term that typically refers derogatorily or disparagingly to FAANGS along with the most dominant players with presences in Silicon Valley like Microsoft, Oracle, IBM, Salesforce, Twitter, Palantir, etc. Often also expands out to the "hipper" or more hyped mid-sized Tech Startups in North America (beyond Silicon Valley). It could include some of the moderate influencer companies like Mozilla, Yahoo, AOL, etc. It can sometimes even more broadly include foreign technology companies like Samsung, LG, Lenovo, Huawei, Xiaomi, Baidu, Tencent (QQ), SoftBank, NTT, Panasonic, SONY, Fujitsu, Fujifilm (Fuji-Xerox), Hitachi, Toshiba, Konica-Minolta, Garmin, Philips, Siemens, Nokia, Canon; and to a far lesser extent some of the older, longer-term tech/electronics players such as 3M, Cisco, Intel, HP, Dell, Acer, etc.

FAANGS

Facebook Amazon Apple Netflix Google Spotify (FAANGS)



Tools


Resources

External Links


References

  1. http://www.arthurcclarke.net/?scifi=12#rand
  2. wikipedia: Clarke's three laws
  3. Escaping the black hole of technical debt: https://www.atlassian.com/agile/technical-debt
  4. The Solution to Technical Debt: https://blog.crisp.se/2013/07/12/henrikkniberg/the-solution-to-technical-debt
  5. On technical debt: http://devblog.dymel.pl/2017/03/16/technical-debt/
  6. Technical Debt - What It Is & Isn't: https://dzone.com/articles/technical-debt-what-it-is-isnt
  7. Technical Debt -- What Is It and How Does It Actually Affect Your Startup? : https://dzone.com/articles/technical-debt-what-is-it-and-how-does-it-actually
  8. ProductPlan -- Technical Debt explainer: https://www.productplan.com/glossary/technical-debt/
  9. Get out of Technical Debt Now! (PRESENTATION): http://www.media-landscape.com/yapc/2006-06-26.AndyLester/
  10. Ward Cunningham Explains Debt Metaphor: http://wiki.c2.com/?WardExplainsDebtMetaphor
  11. Technical Debt: http://wiki.c2.com/?TechnicalDebt
  12. Technical Debt: https://martinfowler.com/bliki/TechnicalDebt.html
  13. Technical Debt "Quadrant": https://martinfowler.com/bliki/TechnicalDebtQuadrant.html
  14. 5 ways to pay down your software security debt: https://techbeacon.com/security/5-ways-pay-down-your-software-security-debt
  15. The Cost of Technical Debt in Analytics: https://www.ironsidegroup.com/2017/05/11/cost-technical-debt-analytics/
  16. The UX of Technical Debt: http://commadot.com/the-ux-of-technical-debt/
  17. wikipedia: OODA loop (Observe–Orient–Decide–Act)
  18. Introduction to the Technical Debt Concept: https://www.agilealliance.org/introduction-to-the-technical-debt-concept/ | PDF
  19. The CIO-CFO Conversation - Technical Debt—An Apt Term?: https://aws.amazon.com/blogs/enterprise-strategy/the-cio-cfo-conversation-technical-debt-an-apt-term/
  20. Managing Technical Debt (WHITEPAPER): http://www.construx.com/uploadedfiles/resources/whitepapers/Managing Technical Debt.pdf
  21. Technical Debt -- Part 1 - Definition: https://dzone.com/articles/technical-debt-part-1
  22. Technical Debt -- Part 2 - Identification: https://dzone.com/articles/technical-debt-part-2
  23. Technical Debt -- Part 3 - Quantifying : https://dzone.com/articles/technical-debt-part-3
  24. Technical Debt -- Part 4 - Remediation: https://dzone.com/articles/technical-debt-part-4
  25. Technical Debt -- Part 5 - Governance: https://dzone.com/articles/technical-debt-part-5
  26. Understand the High Cost of Technical Debt by Ward Cunningham: http://dzone.com/articles/understand-high-cost-technical
  27. An Overview of Technical Debt: http://dzone.com/articles/overview-technical-debt
  28. Avoiding Technical Debt with These "Core Four" Practices: https://resources.scrumalliance.org/Article/avoiding-technical-debt-core-four-practices | VIDEO
  29. The Engineer’s Complete Guide to Technical Debt: https://dzone.com/articles/the-engineers-complete-guide-to-technical-debt-1
  30. How to avoid the technical debt 'kiss of death': https://techbeacon.com/devops/how-avoid-technical-debt-kiss-death
  31. Tech debt - Reclaiming tech equity: https://www.mckinsey.com/business-functions/mckinsey-digital/our-insights/tech-debt-reclaiming-tech-equity
  32. Technical Debt - How much is it Really Costing you?: http://swreflections.blogspot.ca/2012/02/technical-debt-how-much-is-it-really.html (supposedly as much as "$3.61 per line of code")
  33. Understand the High Cost of Technical Debt by Ward Cunningham: http://dzone.com/articles/understand-high-cost-technical
  34. (Maybe it should be called) Technical Liabilities, not Technical Debt: https://dzone.com/articles/technical-liabilities-not-technical-debt
  35. Technical Debt – When Do You Have To Pay It Off?: http://dzone.com/articles/technical-debt-–-when-do-you
  36. Paying Off Your Technical Debt: http://dzone.com/articles/paying-your-technical-debt
  37. Letting Go of Technical Debt: http://dzone.com/articles/letting-go-of-technical-debt
  38. Don’t buy into the Technical Debt Illusion: https://medium.com/swlh/dont-buy-into-the-technical-debt-illusion-fa78f1eefcd4
  39. The One Thing Every Company Can Do to Reduce Technical Debt: http://dzone.com/articles/the-one-thing-every-company-can-do-to-reduce-techn
  40. Don't Waste Time Tracking Technical Debt: http://dzone.com/articles/dont-waste-time-tracking
  41. Infrastructure Debt Harder to "Pay Off" Than Technical Debt: http://dzone.com/articles/infrastructure-debt-harder-pay
  42. 5 Tips On Working With Technical Debt: http://dzone.com/articles/5-tips-on-working-with-technical-debt-matt-lacey (1.Automated Testing, 2.Leave code better than found, 3.Allow/Encourage improvements, 4.Code Reviews, 5.Use "why-and" comments for intentional debt)
  43. Dice of Debt Game: https://www.agilealliance.org/dice-of-debt-game/
  44. Technical Debt is a Systemic Problem: https://www.agilealliance.org/technical-debt-systemic-problem/
  45. Technical Debt: https://guide.freecodecamp.org/agile/technical-debt/
  46. How To Use Technical Debt In Your Favor: https://levelup.gitconnected.com/how-to-use-technical-debt-in-your-favor-98bae475ba68
  47. Equifax Issues Continue - Technical Debt at the Core: https://dzone.com/articles/equifax-issues-continue-technical-debt-at-the-core
  48. Technical Debt and Supporting Prior Decisions: https://dzone.com/articles/technical-debt-amp-supporting-prior-decisions
  49. How great Product Managers deal with Technical Debt: https://productcoalition.com/how-great-product-managers-deal-with-technical-debt-453edec3d473
  50. The 4 Types of "CODE" Technical Debt: https://3back.com/scrum-industry-terms/the-4-types-of-technical-debt/
  51. There are 3 main types of technical debt. Here’s how to manage them: https://hackernoon.com/there-are-3-main-types-of-technical-debt-heres-how-to-manage-them-4a3328a4c50c
  52. Technical Debt Explained -- The Complete Guide to Understanding and Dealing with Technical Debt: https://www.bmc.com/blogs/technical-debt-explained-the-complete-guide-to-understanding-and-dealing-with-technical-debt/
  53. Types of Technical Debt: http://blog.jayfields.com/2011/03/types-of-technical-debt.html
  54. SAFe -- Nonfunctional Requirements: https://www.scaledagileframework.com/nonfunctional-requirements/
  55. CISQ Standards for Measuring Software Risk, Security, and Technical Debt (2018): https://it-cisq.org/wp-content/uploads/2018/03/CISQ-Cyber-Resilience-Summit-2018-3-20-BILL-CURTIS-Standards-for-Managing-Cybersecurity-Risk-and-Technical-Debt.pdf
  56. A Position Study to Investigate Technical Debt Associated withSecurityWeaknesses: https://www.cs.montana.edu/izurieta/pubs/techdebt2018.pdf
  57. Technical Debt Will Kill Your Agile Dreams (if you let it): https://dzone.com/articles/measuring-technical-debt
  58. Should You Declare Bankruptcy on Your Technical Debt?: https://www.informationweek.com/strategic-cio/it-strategy/should-you-declare-bankruptcy-on-your-technical-debt/a/d-id/1333977
  59. Technical Debt Is Like Tetris: https://medium.com/s/story/technical-debt-is-like-tetris-168f64d8b700
  60. There are 3 main types of technical debt - here’s how to manage them: https://hackernoon.com/there-are-3-main-types-of-technical-debt-heres-how-to-manage-them-4a3328a4c50c
  61. Let’s Replace the Term “Technical Debt”: https://morethancoding.com/2019/05/08/lets-replace-the-term-technical-debt/ (how about Technical Liabilities .vs. Technical Asset)
  62. Why You Should Learn to Stop Worrying and Love Technical Debt (but at least measure/account/plan for it properly): https://marker.medium.com/why-you-should-learn-to-stop-worrying-and-love-technical-debt-55bb5684f94c
  63. PIE -- The 3 letters that saved my project's Tech Debt: https://blog.box.com/three-letters-saved-my-tech-debt
  64. DevOps and automating the repayment of technical debt: https://www.devopsgroup.com/blog/devops-and-automating-the-repayment-of-technical-debt/
  65. ‘Organizational Debt’ is hurting my company: https://www.practicalecommerce.com/organizational-debt-is-hurting-my-company
  66. The True Cost of Technical Debt: https://medium.com/better-programming/the-true-cost-of-technical-debt-265f198b1e0b
  67. Three Tips for Managing Technical Debt - While Maintaining Developer Velocity (and Sanity): https://medium.com/appsflyer/three-tips-for-managing-technical-debt-while-maintaining-developer-velocity-and-sanity-f3d4a080052c
  68. Technical Debt Management with Feature Flags -- Strategy & Best Practices: https://rollout.io/blog/technical-debt-management-with-feature-flags-strategy-best-practices/
  69. Technical Debt is REAL debt: https://nvie.com/posts/why-you-should-consider-technical-debt-to-be-real-debt/
  70. What Technical Debt Is And How It’s Measured: https://medium.com/the-andela-way/what-technical-debt-is-and-how-its-measured-ff41603005e3
  71. Reflections on code quality. Confession of a CTO: https://blog.untitledkingdom.com/reflections-on-code-quality-confession-of-a-cto-695fd0812b1d
  72. Code Quality matters to the customers - A lot: https://blog.jakubholy.net/2011/04/02/code-quality-matters-to-the-customers-a-lot/
  73. Why code quality matters: https://searchsoftwarequality.techtarget.com/news/1322405/Why-code-quality-matters
  74. The 23 Patterns of Software Negligence: https://medium.com/young-coder/the-design-patterns-programmers-really-use-c2e7790a900e
  75. The True Cost of Technical Debt: https://killalldefects.com/2019/11/09/the-true-cost-of-technical-debt/
  76. Technical debt as an asset: https://www.slideshare.net/Livatek/technical-debt-as-asset
  77. The High Cost of Technical Debt: https://www.stepsize.com/blog/cost-of-technical-debt: https://samuelmullen.com/articles/the-high-cost-of-technical-debt/
  78. Technical Debt Is The High Cost Of Future Change: http://seattlescrum.com/technical-debt-is-the-high-cost-of-future-change/
  79. Technical Debt - The Silent Company Killer: https://www.forbes.com/sites/falonfatemi/2016/05/30/technical-debt-the-silent-company-killer/
  80. Technical Debt Visualised using Cost of Delay: https://theagilepmo.blog/2016/12/30/technical-debt-visualised-using-cost-of-delay/
  81. Finally I visualized in hard cash the cost of Technical Debt: https://www.reddit.com/r/ITManagers/comments/e9slxx/finally_i_visualized_in_hard_cash_the_cost_of/
  82. The Cost of Technical Debt (focused on Dev Hours): https://www.stepsize.com/blog/cost-of-technical-debt
  83. The Real Cost of Technical Debt: https://platinumedge.com/blog/real-cost-technical-debt
  84. The Real Cost of One Trillion Dollars in IT Debt -- Part II – The Performance Paradox: https://theagileexecutive.com/2010/10/06/the-real-cost-of-one-trillion-dollars-in-it-debt-part-ii-the-performance-paradox/
  85. The Growing Threat of Technical Debt: https://www.outsystems.com/1/growing-threat-technical-debt/thank-you/
  86. (How we approach) Technical Debt at Teamworks: https://medium.com/swlh/technical-debt-at-teamworks-dc0574aef9cf
  87. Three Strategies for Fitting Refactoring into Your Sprints: https://www.mountaingoatsoftware.com/blog/three-strategies-for-fitting-refactoring-into-your-sprints
  88. Escape the Permission Trap with Healthy Habits: https://benjiweber.co.uk/blog/2021/03/28/escape-the-permission-trap-with-healthy-habits/
  89. Developer's Guide to Open Source Spring Cleaning: https://devops.com/developers-guide-to-open-source-spring-cleaning/
  90. The “State of Technical Debt 2021”: https://www.stepsize.com/report
  91. What Do Engineers Really Think About Technical Debt?: https://dzone.com/articles/what-do-engineers-really-think-about-technical-debt
  92. The “State of Technical Debt 2021” -- Engineers weigh in on Technical Debt and Its Impact on Team Morale, Velocity, and Customer Experience: https://f.hubspotusercontent10.net/hubfs/2270361/The%20State%20of%20Technical%20Debt%202021.pdf
  93. How to deal with tech debt — Lessons learned from the best engineering teams (WEBINAR): https://www.stepsize.com/blog/how-to-deal-with-tech-debt-lessons-learned-from-the-best-engineering-teams
  94. The Engineer's Complete Guide to Legacy Code: https://www.stepsize.com/blog/engineers-guide-to-legacy-code-and-technical-debt
  95. 5 arguments to make managers care about Technical Debt: https://understandlegacycode.com/blog/5-arguments-to-make-managers-care-about-technical-debt/
  96. Delicate Art of Bureacracy (BOOK): https://itrevolution.com/delicate-art-of-bureaucracy/ | POSTER (remember that bureaucracy/red-tape/process is typically put in place by perfectly fine people for specific reasons, your job to improve the situation they instill is: #1-prove why their reasons are no longer important, #2-show there are better ways to satisfy those reasons, #3-demonstrate more important reasons i.e. coprorate/department goals, objective, directives that override them)
  97. Hunting TechDebt via "Org charts": https://bellmar.medium.com/hunting-tech-debt-via-org-charts-92df0b253145
  98. Jules Ehrhardt presentation at "The State of the Digital Nation" 2018: https://twg.io/blog/jules-ehrhardt-and-the-state-of-the-digital-nation/

See Also

IT | Software | Hardware | Information Technology | Mobile Technology | PM | Business | Energy