WordPress

From BC$ MobileTV Wiki
(Redirected from Wordpress)
Jump to: navigation, search

WordPress is the leading Open Source Blog solution on the web. [1]


Foundation

The WordPress Foundation is a charitable organization founded by Matt Mullenweg to further the mission of the WordPress open source project: to democratize publishing through Open Source, GPL software.


Platform

Themes

Plugins

Widgets

WYSIWYG

TinyMCE was the original WYSIWYG editor used by WordPress for over a decade and a half. Its strength was its ability to integrate Plugins and/or Widgets direcly into your blog posts through "shortcodes".

Shortcodes

A shortcode is an HTML-like custom "templated snippet" of text that gets parsed and rendered dynamically by combining external functionality such as:

[gallery ids="47 ,86, 92, 64, 48, 75, 89, 80" columns="4" size="medium"]

Which would render as a dynamic image gallery like the following: File:WP-ImageGallery.png

[2] [3] [4] [5] [6] [7] [8]

Gutenberg Editor

Gutenberg Editor is the simplified text editing experience for all posts on the WordPress platform, and replaces the .

[9] [10] [11] [12] [13] [14] [15] [16]


Blocks

Blocks

[17] [18]


API

[23] [24]


Powered by WordPress

[25] [26] [27]


Security issues

One of the downsides of Wordpress' immense popularity is that it becomes a very large/frequent target for attackers, hackers & cybersecurity researchers (both "whitehat" & "blackhat").



Tools


Resources


Tutorials


External Links


References

  1. WordPress.org: http://wordpress.org/
  2. WordPress Shortcodes overview: http://faq.wordpress.com/2008/06/18/what-are-the-wordpress-shortcodes/
  3. WordPress Shortcode - Tutorial covering 25 popular shortcodes: http://xavisys.com/wordpress-25-shortcodes/
  4. WordPress Shortcodes Plugin — Shortcodes Ultimate: https://wordpress.org/plugins/shortcodes-ultimate/ (one of the inspirations for the "Block" based approach to replace shortcodes in the new WP Gutenberg Editor)
  5. How to Add (author a blog post with) a Shortcode in WordPress? (Beginner’s Guide): https://www.wpbeginner.com/wp-tutorials/how-to-add-a-shortcode-in-wordpress/
  6. How to Make Your Own WordPress (Shortcode): http://blogcraving.com/wordpress-shortcode/
  7. Troubleshooting issues when Shortcodes do not work: https://getshortcodes.com/docs/shortcodes-do-not-work/
  8. The Ultimate Guide to WordPress Shortcodes (With Examples to Create Your Own) : https://kinsta.com/blog/wordpress-shortcodes/
  9. How to Use Gutenberg Editor (The Complete Guide): https://www.begindot.com/gutenberg-editor-complete-guide/
  10. The Gutenberg WordPress Editor - 10 Things You Need to Know: https://ithemes.com/gutenberg-wordpress-editor-10-things-to-know/
  11. Gutenberg -- WordPress' new Editor - Technical Overview: https://make.wordpress.org/core/2017/01/17/editor-technical-overview/
  12. How to Use the Classic Editor with WordPress 5.0: https://ithemes.com/how-to-use-classic-editor-wordpress-5-0/
  13. Gutenberg, or the Ship of Theseus: https://matiasventura.com/post/gutenberg-or-the-ship-of-theseus/
  14. Gutenberg An alternative approach: https://yoast.com/gutenberg-alternative-approach/
  15. We Called it Gutenberg for a Reason: https://ma.tt/2017/08/we-called-it-gutenberg-for-a-reason/
  16. On React and WordPress: https://ma.tt/2017/09/on-react-and-wordpress/
  17. WordPress docs -- Block Editor Handbook - FAQ: https://developer.wordpress.org/block-editor/handbook/faq/
  18. WordPress docs -- Block Editor Handbook - Getting started: https://developer.wordpress.org/block-editor/
  19. Building a Plugin – It’s Easier Than You Think: http://wordpress.tv/2009/09/20/john-hawkins-plugin-building-portland09/
  20. How to create your own WordPress functionality plugin: http://wpcandy.com/teaches/how-to-create-a-functionality-plugin
  21. How-To Build Your Own WordPress Functionality Plugin : http://churchm.ag/how-to-create-a-functionality-plugin/
  22. A Crash-Course in WordPress Plugin Development: http://net.tutsplus.com/articles/news/a-crash-course-in-wordpress-plugin-development/
  23. Function Reference/wp schedule single event: http://codex.wordpress.org/Function_Reference/wp_schedule_single_event
  24. Function Reference/wp schedule event: http://codex.wordpress.org/Function_Reference/wp_schedule_event
  25. 10 Beautiful Non-Blog Websites Powered by WordPress: http://blogsessive.com/blogging-tools/10-beautiful-wordpress-websites/
  26. Top 10 Government Sites Powered By WordPress : http://www.honeytechblog.com/top-10-government-sites-powered-by-wordpress/
  27. 18 Awesome Websites Powered By WordPress: http://samswebguide.com/2010/08/02/18-awesome-websites-powered-by-wordpress/
  28. Nearly 30% of critical WordPress plugin bugs don't get a patch: https://www.bleepingcomputer.com/news/security/nearly-30-percent-of-critical-wordpress-plugin-bugs-dont-get-a-patch/

See Also

Blog | Web 2.0 | CMS | Newspaper | Magazine | LMS | Marketing | A11Y