Chrome

From BC$ MobileTV Wiki
Revision as of 10:58, 27 June 2022 by Bcmoney (Talk | contribs)

Jump to: navigation, search

Chrome is Google's latest foray into the browser market. Although it does not enjoy much widespread use, it has created a cult following amongst "Googlites", who claim it to be far superior to IE and even the more popular (also WebKit-based) Firefox.


OS

Google announced on Friday, July 10th that they have been working on an Operating System due for release in the second quarter of 2010.

[1] [2]

Browser

On September 2nd, 2008 Google released their Chrome browser as an intended competitor to IE, Firefox, Safari and Opera.


Chromium

chromium is an open-source browser project to help move the web forward and is the open-source project behind Google Chrome. Google invites developers to join them in their effort to "build a safer, faster, and more stable way for all Internet users to experience the web, and to create a powerful platform for developing a new generation of web applications".


WebExtensions

[3] [4] [5] [6] [7]


Lighthouse

Lighthouse was originally a tool used internally at Google by their various Dev teams to measure various performance-related criteria of their products/services, particularly as an alternative to Yahoo's YSlow website performance evaluation tool which was optimized only for HTTP 1.0 best practices; whereas Lighthouse was designed to be more easily kept up-to-date to support evolving web standards (such as HTTP 1 to 2.x then 3.x and beyond; among other topics like PWAs and A11Y which are also fast-evolving technologies). It was eventually decided to be a worthwhile tool to open source and offer to other developers to use to optimize their products/services as well (as this benefits Google through improved Search Result quality and extended Ad Network page load times).

They first released Lighthouse as a Chrome extension with Chrome 44 (2016)[8], and as a core part of the Dev tools in Chrome Canary 58 (2018)[9], making it a permanent fixture since that version's release[10].

[12] [13] [14] [15] [16] [17] [18] [19] [20] [21] [22] [23] [24] [25] [26] [27] [28] [29] [30] [31] [32] [33] [34]



EULA Issues

Shortly after the release of Google's Chrome browser, a substantial number of users raised concerns over the restrictions of the End User License Agreement.




Tools

Extenstions


Resources


Tutorials

[35] [36] [37] [38] [39] [40] [41]


External Links


References

  1. How to Run Chrome OS Flex on Your PC or Mac: https://www.howtogeek.com/786376/how-to-run-chrome-os-flex-on-your-pc-or-mac/
  2. Chrome OS Flex Will Bring Old Macs and PCs Back to Life: https://www.howtogeek.com/786550/chrome-os-flex-will-bring-old-macs-and-pcs-back-to-life/
  3. MozDev -- Chrome incompatibilities: https://developer.mozilla.org/en-US/docs/Mozilla/Add-ons/WebExtensions/Chrome_incompatibilities
  4. MozDev -- Porting a Google Chrome extension: https://extensionworkshop.com/documentation/develop/porting-a-google-chrome-extension/
  5. WebExtensions and parity with Chrome: https://blog.mozilla.org/addons/2016/09/13/webextensions-and-parity-with-chrome/
  6. How to Create and Publish a Chrome Extension in 20 minutes: https://www.freecodecamp.org/news/how-to-create-and-publish-a-chrome-extension-in-20-minutes-6dc8395d7153/
  7. Chrome extension -- open a link from popup.html in a new tab: https://stackoverflow.com/questions/8915845/chrome-extension-open-a-link-from-popup-html-in-a-new-tab
  8. Building a Better Web with Lighthouse: https://developers.google.com/web/updates/2016/12/lighthouse-dbw
  9. Lighthouse - a powerful tool included in Chrome and DevTools: https://blog.dareboost.com/en/2018/06/lighthouse-tool-chrome-devtools/
  10. How To Use The Lighthouse Chrome Extension For SEO: https://ignitevisibility.com/lighthouse-chrome-extension/
  11. Lighthouse - "release version" history: https://github.com/GoogleChrome/lighthouse/releases
  12. wikipedia: Google Lighthouse
  13. Build a Node.js Tool to Record and Compare Google Lighthouse Reports: https://css-tricks.com/build-a-node-js-tool-to-record-and-compare-google-lighthouse-reports/
  14. How to Run Lighthouse Reports for Multiple Pages: https://www.upbuild.io/blog/lighthouse-reports-multiple-pages/
  15. Achieving a perfect 100% Google Lighthouse audit score with next.js: https://medium.com/@kyle_23362/achieving-a-perfect-100-google-lighthouse-audit-score-with-next-js-b92795a0fd49
  16. Using Lighthouse To Improve Page Load Performance: https://developers.google.com/web/updates/2018/05/lighthouse
  17. PWA Labs -- Auditing (performance) with Lighthouse: https://developers.google.com/web/ilt/pwa/lab-auditing-with-lighthouse
  18. What is Google Lighthouse?: https://neilpatel.com/blog/google-lighthouse/
  19. Introduction to Chrome Lighthouse: https://www.freecodecamp.org/news/introduction-to-chrome-lighthouse/
  20. Lighthouse dev tools - site with authentication: https://stackoverflow.com/questions/58013387/lighthouse-dev-tools-site-with-authentication
  21. Use Lighthouse for "performance budgets": https://web.dev/use-lighthouse-for-performance-budgets/
  22. Lighthouse -- GitHub Actions - "performance status" badge: https://developer.aliyun.com/mirror/npm/package/lighthouse
  23. Lighthouse - a powerful tool included in Chrome and DevTools: https://blog.dareboost.com/en/2018/06/lighthouse-tool-chrome-devtools/
  24. Publisher Ads Audits for Lighthouse: https://developers.google.com/publisher-ads-audits
  25. PageSpeed - Release Notes: https://developers.google.com/speed/docs/insights/release_notes
  26. Lighthouse 2.5 updates: https://developers.google.com/web/updates/2017/10/lighthouse
  27. Lighthouse 2.6 updates: https://developers.google.com/web/updates/2017/12/lighthouse
  28. Lighthouse 2.7 updates: https://developers.google.com/web/updates/2018/01/lighthouse
  29. Lighthouse 2.8 updates: https://developers.google.com/web/updates/2018/02/lighthouse
  30. Announcing Lighthouse 3.0: https://developers.google.com/web/updates/2018/05/lighthouse3
  31. What's New in Lighthouse 6.0: https://web.dev/lighthouse-whats-new-6.0/
  32. Lighthouse 6.0, what's new in Chrome 83, highlights of MS Build 2020: https://dev.to/adriansandu/lighthouse-6-0-what-s-new-in-chrome-83-highlights-of-ms-build-2020-front-end-news-4eoo
  33. Lighthouse variability: https://developers.google.com/web/tools/lighthouse/variability
  34. How Lighthouse calculates your overall Performance score (as of 2020-06-12): https://web.dev/performance-scoring/
  35. Chromium bug tracker -- Issue# 587466 - Valid use cases for autocomplete=off: https://bugs.chromium.org/p/chromium/issues/detail?id=587466
  36. Chromium bug tracker -- Issue# 468153 - autocomplete=off is ignored on non-login INPUT elements: https://bugs.chromium.org/p/chromium/issues/detail?id=468153#c164
  37. How to turn off form autocompletion: https://developer.mozilla.org/en-US/docs/Web/Security/Securing_your_site/Turning_off_form_autocompletion (standard way doesn't work as of course most Chrome versions ignore it)
  38. Chrome ignores autocomplete="off" workarounds: https://stackoverflow.com/questions/12374442/chrome-ignores-autocomplete-off
  39. Autocomplete off vs false?: https://stackoverflow.com/questions/30053167/autocomplete-off-vs-false
  40. Disabling Chrome Autofill: https://stackoverflow.com/questions/15738259/disabling-chrome-autofill
  41. Disable HTML Form Input Autocomplete and Autofill: https://gist.github.com/niksumeiko/360164708c3b326bd1c8
  42. Google Chrome Browser Update Stops Paywalls From Blocking Incognito Mode Visitors: https://www.mediapost.com/publications/article/338448/google-chrome-browser-update-stops-paywalls-from-b.html

See Also

Google | Browser