Difference between revisions of "Search Engine Optimization"

From BC$ MobileTV Wiki
Jump to: navigation, search
(Rich Snippets)
Line 86: Line 86:
 
=== Rich Snippets ===
 
=== Rich Snippets ===
  
* Google dev docs -- Search - Understand how structured data works: https://developers.google.com/search/docs/guides/intro-structured-data?visit_id=637504462390452835-2767135469&hl=en&rd=1
+
See: [[Rich Snippets]]
* '''Beyond Rich Snippets -- Semantic Web Technologies for Better SEO: http://www.seoskeptic.com/beyond-rich-snippets-semantic-web-technologies-for-better-seo/'''
+
<ref>What are Rich Snippets?: https://backlinko.com/hub/seo/snippets</ref>
+
<ref>Yoast SEO guides - What are "Rich Snippets"?: https://yoast.com/what-are-rich-snippets/</ref>
+
<ref>Rich Snippets - Everything You Need To Know In 2021 (with Case Study): https://www.seobility.net/en/blog/rich-snippets/</ref>
+
<ref>Better SEO with Structured Data and Rich Snippets: https://www.infoq.com/news/2021/02/seo-structured-data-rich-snippet/</ref>
+
<ref>With Rich Snippets, You Can Enchant Users and Climb in SEO Results: https://www.fool.com/the-blueprint/rich-snippets/</ref>
+
<ref>Using Structured Data and Rich Snippets for better SEO: https://blockgeni.com/using-structured-data-and-rich-snippets-for-better-seo/</ref>
+
<ref>Digital Presence Optimization: http://www.seoskeptic.com/digital-presence-optimization/</ref>
+
<ref>New Google Tech Fuses SEO and Semantic Web: https://www.cmswire.com/cms/web-cms/new-google-tech-fuses-seo-and-semantic-web-004633.php</ref>
+
<ref>Semantic SEO: https://backlinko.com/hub/seo/semantic-seo</ref>
+
<ref>Semantic SEO -- Going Beyond Keywords With Rich Snippets & Structured Data Markup: https://nrdigitalbranding.com/blog/semantic-seo-going-beyond-keywords-with-rich-snippets-structured-data-markup/</ref>
+
<ref>Meet "Rich Results Test", Google's New Structured Data Tool: http://www.seoskeptic.com/google-rich-results-test/</ref>
+
<ref>What's New with Structured Data and Markup?: http://www.seoskeptic.com/whats-new-structured-data-markup/</ref>
+
<ref>JSON-LD's Big Day at Google: http://www.seoskeptic.com/json-ld-big-day-at-google/</ref>
+
<ref>First Rich Snippets from JSON-LD Spotted in the Wild (And They're Delicious): http://www.seoskeptic.com/first-rich-snippets-from-json-ld-spotted-in-the-wild/</ref>
+
<ref>Google Introduces Media Actions, Powered by JSON-LD Data Feeds: http://www.seoskeptic.com/google-media-actions-json-ld-data-feeds/</ref>
+
<ref>Five Years of Google Rich Snippets: http://www.seoskeptic.com/five-years-of-google-rich-snippets/</ref>
+
<ref>What is datacommons.org?: https://thegraphlounge.com/what-is-datacommons-org/</ref>
+
<ref>Search Engine Optimization with Data: http://www.seoskeptic.com/seo-with-data/</ref>
+
<ref>Structured Data for Author Pages and Linked Snippets: http://www.seoskeptic.com/structured-data-for-author-pages-and-linked-snippets/</ref>
+
<ref>Best Practices for Author Profile Pages:  http://www.seoskeptic.com/best-practices-for-author-profile-pages/</ref>
+
 
+
 
+
 
+
  
 
== Tools ==
 
== Tools ==

Revision as of 10:42, 4 March 2021

Search Engine Optimization (commonly abbreviated SEO) is a technique for manipulating the search results of the top Search Engine services (Google, Yahoo!, Lycos, DogPile, WebCrawler, Mahalo, Wikia, Cuil, etc...).


Criteria

The following criteria contribute to ranking in search engines:

  1. page title
  2. META description
  3. META keywords
  4. content (keywords and/or keyphrases appear at a ratio of 1:3, or once every third of content... for example it should appear in the first paragraph if you have three, the first and fourth if you have six, etc)
  5. categories
  6. tags
  7. links (title, rel)
  8. images (title, alt)
  9. media (title, alternate DIV or P tags)
  10. iframe (noframes text)
  11. script (noscript text)
  12. links (outbound links from your site linking to references or other external sites)
  13. backlinks (number of sites linking in to your's)
  14. searches (number of searches using keywords that pull up relevant pages of your site's content already)
  15. authority (reliability of your top-level domain for a given topic)
  16. freshness (frequency of updates)
  17. traffic (visitations over time)


Techniques

Directories

Getting listed in the main Yahoo!, DMOZ and other business directories is essential. This could require substantial original content or establishment and recognition of authoritative position for given material or subject.


Link Building

The process of acquiring hyperlinks from other websites to your own. A hyperlink (usually just called a link) is a way for users to navigate between pages on the internet.

Link Sharing

As long as a majority of in-bound links are from non-reciprocated sources, certain targeted link-shares can be extremely beneficial to SEO and Search Engine ranking on a particular subject.

Link Buying

No longer a viable alternative (in bulk) due to Google's Search Engine algorithm changes. May still make sense in a smaller more focused manner.

Roundups

Top 10 Lists, Best-Ofs, Greatest Hits (of own content or others'), etc...

How-Tos

Writing tutorials or how-to guides is a great way to share your knowledge and expertise, and generate traffic, especially when done for a niche or specialized topic.


Link Checking

You should avoid publishing a website or webapp with dead links. The technique of "Link Checking", literally going through all the pages and looking for any dead links, malformed URLs, missing images, moved content redirects not working correctly, etc. This is a light version of full-fledged "Spidering" the website/webapp, where a Web Spider will run through all the links it finds on your site until it doesn't find any new links (i.e. one page that links to another page that has one or more links on it, all links will be visited on all pages).

[1] [2]


Rich Snippets

See: Rich Snippets

Tools

[5]


Resources


Tutorials


External Links

References

  1. Google Webmaster - Crawl Errors report (websites): https://support.google.com/webmasters/answer/35120?hl=en
  2. How to Crawl site getting URL and status code: https://codereview.stackexchange.com/questions/135567/crawl-site-getting-url-and-status-code/135579
  3. 10 Ugly SEO Tools that Actually Rock: http://www.seomoz.org/blog/seo-tools-that-rock
  4. SearchBliss - Keyword Difficulty tool: http://www.searchbliss.com/seo-tools/keyword-ranking-difficulty-check.asp
  5. 5 Tools To Check For Broken Links On Your WordPress Site: http://www.wpuniversity.com/blog/5-tools-find-broken-links
  6. Search Engine Optimization (SEO) Starter Guide: https://support.google.com/webmasters/answer/7451184?hl=en
  7. Search Engine Market Share in Asia – January 2016: https://www.ajpr.com/search-engine-market-share-in-asia-january-2016/
  8. 11 Ways to Get Authority Links for Your New Blog: https://neilpatel.com/blog/11-ways-to-get-authority-links-for-your-new-blog/
  9. What Are Inbound Links and How to Generate Them: https://ninjaoutreach.com/inbound-links/
  10. Search Engine Ranking Factors 2015: https://moz.com/search-ranking-factors/correlations
  11. rel=canonical: the ultimate guide: https://yoast.com/rel-canonical/
  12. HTML <link> tag's rel attribute explained: https://www.contentkingapp.com/academy/link-rel/
  13. First Byte Time (back-end processing): https://wordpress.stackexchange.com/questions/75045/first-byte-time-back-end-processing
  14. How to reduce the “Time for the first byte” on my website?: https://stackoverflow.com/questions/8539784/how-to-reduce-the-time-for-the-first-byte-on-my-website
  15. CDNs Won’t Improve Your SEO (unless…): https://www.imperva.com/blog/using-cdn-to-improve-seo-and-ttfb/
  16. Stop worrying about Time To First Byte (TTFB): https://blog.cloudflare.com/ttfb-time-to-first-byte-considered-meaningles/
  17. What Is Time To First Byte, And How To Improve It: https://www.searchenginepeople.com/blog/16081-time-to-first-byte-seo.html
  18. The strange case of Mr. "Time To First Byte": https://serverfault.com/questions/350062/the-strange-case-of-mr-time-to-first-byte

See Also

Search Engine | Analyics | Microdata | RDFa | Microformats | OpenSearch | Sitemap | Robots.txt | User Agent | A11Y | CMS